Shirt/ boards question.

Thanks Received
Hello, I am pretty new to the subject of insignia and the HJ in general.
I have been looking at a shirt on a dealers website. Its particularly of interest to me as its from an area in Germany my girlfriends family live, Stuttgart. The sleeve triangle is present with Sud Württemberg. It also has Landdienst hj cuff title. The shirts boards are missing, and although the buttons are marked 4 to hold the boards on, there are no loops at the outer shoulders to loop the boards through.
So my question is, how would boards be fitted to the shirt?
or should the shirt have loops? Were there straight sewn on types as well as the strapped type of shoulder boards?
Does any alarm bells ring regarding any of the info?
I will try to get some pics if this helps. In the meantime, any help here will be greatly appreciated.

regards John

Thanks a lot, thats a very informative article.
I appreciate the information. I will have a good read tonight when I get home after work.

regards John

In addition to the info contained in Darin's very good article I would just add the following:

There were two different types of shoulder insignia: shoulder straps (Schulterklappen) and shoulder boards (Schulterstücke). The former were worn by normal members and those in lower and middle leadership positions. The latter were worn by the higher leaders (Führerkorps) which encompassed the rank range Gefolgschaftsführer/Fähnleinführer to Stabsführer).

Both the shoulder strap and the shoulder board were produced in two versions:

• permanent sew-in type (no securing flap)

• removable with securing flap.

The shoulder straps and boards without the securing flap were designed to be sewn into the seam at the shoulder of all uniform items with the following exceptions:

Shoulder straps with the securing flap were designed for wear on the Winterbluse.