Just picked up this Lauterjung transitional HJ knife and scabbard.

Thanks Received
You don't have permission to view attachments.

I know the knife is a little rough, but it's the first piece of my collection and I'm proud to own it. I was curious if anyone else has a blade from this same transitional era and could post pictures for me to compare the knives? I was also curious if anyone had any extra info that might be good for me to know. I know the knife was made by H&F Lauterjung, who still exists today, I also spotted the "Blood and Honor!" on the blade and the RZM stamp. I'm new to this hobby, so anything I should know I'm happy to hear.

Cheers!

Attachments

Hi,

Welcome to this forum and congrats on your decision to collect HJ transitional knives.

Oh boy, this knife has indeed suffered a lot.:Cry:
Really a shame, but what is to be expected of boys playing with their knife and what to think about the time after the war, how was it preserved and has it been used ever since?
I'm glad to hear you' re OK with it. :001_cool:
Along side other things I collect transitionals HJ knives,(I invite you to visit my trans HJ projekt) but up untill now I don't have this maker. I try to find knives wich are still in a present decent presentable state. This means you pay a 'bitt' more but my experience is that the value of these are still rising, so in my opinion it is worth to try to get knives wich are in a better condition as yours.
Nice to see that the diamond inlay, as far as I can see looks still great with no or little damage to the enamel?
For a knife that has suffered such a beating, surprising to see this especially when you notice that the gripplates are IMO original to the knife. Often one notices that in an attempt to highten up the value, knives are re-estated in a better condition as they were before with genuine recuperated parts from other knives. This is here not the case.