Unusual Hitler Youth knife - RZM M7/12 but marked Wüsthof?

Thanks Received
Hi All,

I am no expert, and need some advice. HJ dagger that I have access to, got RZM code 7/12 but makers mark Wusthof with logo on the opposite side. 7/12 is not the Wusthof code .....also it has the motto engraved on the blade but 1940 stamped on the ricasso. In all aspects it's a transitional except for the 1940. How is that ? I have checked all the usual clues on the knife and all seems ok .... any advice please.

Hi Raymondo, can you please post some good pics of the knife and it's markings, motto, date etc?

The RZM number and different manufacturer can be explained, the motto with the 1940 date would be most unusual.

Pics will help.

Regards

Russ

Thanks !
I have uploaded 3 photos ....

You don't have permission to view attachments.

Attachments

Hi Raymondo

Can you please show a close pic of the diamond looking straight on to it and the same with the RZM mark?

Regards

Russ

Hi Russ,

Thanks for your help !
On looking at the diamond , I have noticed that its off set to one side, and dont align with the studs.
The diamond has movement though and is not glued in. The studs seem to be brass. The pommel or handle is magnetic.
I dont doubt its an original knife, but something strange is going on ...
All the markings are inconsistent. The RZM logo dont join the surrounding circle with its legs ....it is just an M.
While researching on the internet , I found another knife with exactly the same markings as mine. Its from a dealer in the UK, very expensive and in excellent condition. Its a copy of mine except for the motto on the blade. By the way, I have checked the motto and it is edged into the blade you can feel it with your nail ....
I am adding the photos from the other knife ( the one for sale ), it is 100% the same as mine .... notice the squad leader insignia attached to the scabbard.