Gold and Silver Hitler Youth shooting badges (Scharfschütze, Meisterschütze) M1/102, M1/63

Joe B

Banned
Thanks Received
I am not an expert on badges , can someone with more knowledge than myself please give me there opinions ?

Sharpshooter M1/102, Master Shot M1/63

Thank you

You don't have permission to view attachments.

Attachments

both look like nice badges to me, i know the 102 has been well faked but this matches the accepted good ones
stu

The Scharfschütze looks fine to me too. The M1/102 Meisterschütze badges are difficult though. My question with these is whether a badge with such a small run would have needed more than one manufacturer (M1/63 and M1/102). By 1943 and according to the Reichsjugendführung's own statistics 852 Meisterschütze badges had been awarded (Das kommende Deutschland, Günter Kaufmann). Clearly more would have been awarded after that point though and when I was researching the article on the shooting badge series in an attempt to establish the actual total awarded by 1945 I came across supporting documentation for two badges which help to give a more realistic number. The first badge is a little higher (serial number 989 - awarded 14th of Feb 1943) but I also found a second shooting book showing the award of badge serial number 2303 (8th of April 1944).

Now, even with that higher number of over 2300 awarded the question still needs to be asked: would two manufacturers (M1/63 and M1/102) have been required to make such a relatively small number of badges? Edit: three actually as we can add M1/120 to the list. The M1/63 versions are generally accepted as good but can anyone confirm which of the makers had a contract for the Meisterschütze badge? That would be a great help because the Meisterschütze Joe shows looks nice and it would be great to get rid of the doubt surrounding the 102s/120s.