Help ID HJ Stammführer Bann 537

Thanks Received
Hello all
I have this photo and im trying to maybe find a name? His bann numbers represent he is from Kirchdorf. His triangle should also be Südost Oberdonau. I also believe his ribbon bar to be that of a Sudetenland ribbon. What is interesting is the back. It says he was murdered by the Czechs in 1945 but this seems to be in a ball point pen, so definitely been added at a later date. Also says Bann 585 but his photo definitely shows 537. Also seems to have been cut at the bottom. I would love to just hear everyones opinion. Any insight at all in welcomed :)
Thank you
Josh
(If any of my information is wrong, I am still learning so please let me know :) )

You don't have permission to view attachments.

Attachments

Interesting photo. Let's take the obvious first. As you wrote, the number of the bann 537, Kirchdorf, more precisely Kirchdorf an der Krems in Upper Austria (Oberdonau). That is quite far from any Czech border. Let's have a look at the back. It says: Gottfried, Nikolsb..., Österreicher (=Austrian).
Well, Österreicher/Austrian is not his origin (although that too), but his family name, as you can see from the signature. And the place is also revealed to us, since it can only be called Nikolsburg (Mikulov in Czech). It has a beautiful castle and lies directly on the border with Niederösterreich/Lower Austria in the Czech State. So the man must have been transferred at some time, the photo could be older. The dedication says: "Meinem guten und treuen Hannes (i.e. Johannes) zur Erinnerung"/To my good and faithful Hannes in memory.
Unfortunately, the place and date are cut off at the bottom, but one can guess that it should read 1944.
So if he worked as a Nazi exponent in the Protectorate, it is quite likely that he was murdered in 1945. If you want information on this, please have a look there: Expulsion of Germans from Czechoslovakia or Brno death march at Wikipedia.
End of expertise :biggrin1::yo:.